Foundation Collection

Scroll to Info & Navigation

THE FOUNDATION: The 8 Limbs of Yoga

Just as building a foundation is an absolutely necessary phase to building any structure, the most important aspect of the construction of the spiritual edifice of  yoga is constituted by the moral & ethical practices called yamas and niyamas. The first limb is the Yamas:

But the yamas as described in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra are only five, which are also known as the great universal vows or the sarvabhauma maha vratas, because they are not limited by either class, creed, time or circumstances. They are the guidelines for how we interact with the outer world, the social disciplines to guide us in our relationships with others. These five are:

• Ahimsa (non-violence),
• Satya (truthfulness),
• Asteya (non-stealing),
• Brahmacharya (celibacy) and
• Aparigraha (non-covetousness)

To honor the foundation of a practice we design the 8 Limbs Collection, hope you enjoy your foundation and be inspired by those around you and who practiced before you.

Visit: to see the complete collection